History of Rallye du Maroc

“The story began in 1982 with

the arrival of Paris-Agadir,

the first rally raid to run in Morocco”

Morocco has always been a land of rally raid. The story began in 1982 with the arrival of Paris-Agadir, the first rally raid to run in Morocco. The following year, the rally took the name of ‘Atlas Rally’ and became the flagship rally to the Rally Raids calendar. The Atlas Rally saw the best drivers and teams in the discipline run.

The Atlas Rally, after having changed hands from the company Larivièret to ASO, disappeared at the end of the 90’s. It was then reborn in 2000 as ‘Rallye du Maroc’, under the leadership of Cyril Neveu and Jean Christophe Pelletier. The rally immediately became the major Moroccan rally and welcomed again the elite of rally raid.

In 2007, the company NPO, organiser of the Rallye du Maroc, was sold to Emma and Stéphane Clair and became an event in the FIM World Championship and the FIA World Cup. After 10 years at the head of the event, NPO sold the Rallye du Maroc to the company ODC, led by David Castera.

Histoire du rallye du Maroc

« L’histoire a commencé en 1982

avec l’arrivée du Paris – Agadir,

premier rallye raid couru au Maroc »

Le Maroc a toujours été une terre de rallye Raid. L’histoire a commencé en 1982 avec l’arrivée du Paris – Agadir, premier rallye raid couru au Maroc. L’année suivante, le rallye prendra le nom de « Rallye de l’Atlas » et deviendra un rallye phare du calendrier des Rallye Raids qui verra courir les meilleurs pilotes et équipes de la discipline.

Le rallye de l’Atlas, après être passé de la société Larivière à ASO disparaitra à la fin des années 90 avant de renaitre en 2000 sous le nom de « Rallye du Maroc » sous l’impulsion de Cyril Neveu et Jean Christophe Pelletier. Le rallye devient immédiatement le rallye majeur du Maroc et accueille à nouveau l’élite du rallye raid.

En 2007, la société NPO organisatrice du Rallye du Maroc, est vendue à Emma et Stéphane Clair et deviendra une épreuve du Championnat du Monde FIM et de la Coupe du Monde FIA. Après 10 années à la tête de l’épreuve, la société NPO cède le Rallye du Maroc à la société ODC dirigée par David Castera.